THE DEATH RELIC
Payne & Jones - Book 7



AN ANCIENT LEGEND
Vanquished by the Spanish Empire, little remained of the Aztec and Mayan civilizations. From the ashes of their cities, a unified legend emerged: the Christians possessed a mysterious object, an artifact so deadly that it was known in the Americas as “the death relic.”

A MYSTERIOUS OBJECT
Despite its infamy, little else is known about the death relic. Not its shape, its size, nor its purpose. Like the lives of the men who carried it, the object was lost long ago. Or was it?

A MODERN ADVENTURE
When Maria Pelati’s research team disappears in Mexico, she calls Payne and Jones, who offer to find the missing archaeologists. The duo quickly finds a link between the group’s work and its recent disappearance. Following clues left behind, the duo tries to find her team by solving one of the darkest mysteries of the New World.

BOOKS | EXCERPT | FOREIGN | VIRTUAL

2013 Mystery/Suspense Novel of the Year (Affaire de Coeur magazine)

From Booklist
“Kuzneski’s latest Payne and Jones novel is the best yet in the ongoing series…. The second half is a nonstop action fest. Readers unfamiliar with Payne and Jones will find this the perfect place to start…. Fans of James Rollins and Clive Cussler will dig this one.”

From Midwest Book Review
“Prolific writers with characters who enthrall create a following of readers who look forward to the next adventure with mouths watering as if they were about to eat a tasty morsel. Chris Kuzneski is such an author. Highly recommended!”

From Florida Weekly
“Chris Kuzneski once again delivers his special blend of humor and suspense in The Death Relic. . . High-stakes adventure, intriguing history and science, well-rounded characters and spectacular settings all make his novels easy to enjoy…. A tense thriller filled with action and laughs.”

From Gulf Coast Times
“International bestselling author Chris Kuzneski delivers a thrilling tale about Mayan ancient mysteries, urban legends, and conspiracy theories that keeps readers on the edge of their seats…. With fast-paced thrills and the signature humor that defines Kuzneski’s work, The Death Relic ratchets up the heat and suspense. Nothing is certain, and no one is safe when mysteries that began centuries ago begin to wreak havoc in the modern world.”

US - Death Relic (200x300)
(Payne & Jones - Book 7)

AN ANCIENT LEGEND
Vanquished by the Spanish Empire, little remained of the Aztec and Mayan civilizations. From the ashes of their cities, a unified legend emerged: the Christians possessed a mysterious object, an artifact so deadly that it was known in the Americas as “the death relic.”

A MYSTERIOUS OBJECT
Despite its infamy, little else is known about the death relic. Not its shape, its size, nor its purpose. Like the lives of the men who carried it, the object was lost long ago. Or was it?

A MODERN ADVENTURE
When Maria Pelati’s research team disappears in Mexico, she calls Payne and Jones, who offer to find the missing archaeologists. The duo quickly finds a link between the group’s work and its recent disappearance. Following clues left behind, the duo tries to find her team by solving one of the darkest mysteries of the New World.


PRAISE

From Booklist
“Kuzneski’s latest Payne and Jones novel is the best yet in the ongoing series…. The second half is a nonstop action fest. Readers unfamiliar with Payne and Jones will find this the perfect place to start…. Fans of James Rollins and Clive Cussler will dig this one.”

From Midwest Book Review
“Prolific writers with characters who enthrall create a following of readers who look forward to the next adventure with mouths watering as if they were about to eat a tasty morsel. Chris Kuzneski is such an author. Highly recommended!”

From Florida Weekly
“Chris Kuzneski once again delivers his special blend of humor and suspense in
The Death Relic. . . High-stakes adventure, intriguing history and science, well-rounded characters and spectacular settings all make his novels easy to enjoy…. A tense thriller filled with action and laughs.”

From Gulf Coast Times
“International bestselling author Chris Kuzneski delivers a thrilling tale about Mayan ancient mysteries, urban legends, and conspiracy theories that keeps readers on the edge of their seats…. With fast-paced thrills and the signature humor that defines Kuzneski’s work,
The Death Relic ratchets up the heat and suspense. Nothing is certain, and no one is safe when mysteries that began centuries ago begin to wreak havoc in the modern world.”


BOOKS | EXCERPT | FOREIGN