Much to my surprise,
The Prisoner's Gold won the 2016 Thriller Award for E-Book of the Year at a gala at the Grand Hyatt. The award was given by ITW, which stands for International Thriller Writers. It is an honorary society of authors, both fiction and nonfiction, who write books broadly classified as “thrillers.” This includes many genres including: mystery, detective, suspense, horror, espionage, true crime, young adult, and so on.

Shockingly, I am the first action/adventure writer to ever win a prestigious Thriller award. In fact, prior to my nomination, the only adventure author to be a finalist was Clive Cussler (my writing idol) in 2007. In case you're wondering, previous winners include Stephen King, Jeffery Deaver, John Sandford, and Lisa Gardner. So, yeah, I'm in pretty good company!

Click on any photo to scroll through the images:

Lobby of the Grand Hyatt in New York City
My acceptance speech (dark room, poor lighting for photos)
Close-up of the award after the banquet
Table 8 was the hippest/happiest table at Thrillerfest
Winning shot
The Three Amigos (Graham Brown, Chris, Boyd Morrison)
Steve Berry said the award was a victory for our genre
Goofing off with Jason Pinter
I was too excited to sleep, but the trophy took a nap
Home sweet home